Believe it or not, although wine is made from grapes, that doesn’t necessarily make it vegan (or vegetarian!). This is due to a winemaking process called fining. After fermentation, all wines are cloudy and contain tiny molecules such as proteins, tartrates, tannins and phenolics. Despite all these being natural and harmless, they are not desired by wine-drinkers who prefer their wines to be bright and clear.